Oprah reveals all in new ‘Hollywood Reporter’ interview

oprahOur favourite media mogul recently sat down with The Hollywood Reporter for a candid and heart warming interview where she discusses everything from her non-regrets regarding motherhood and being the breadwinner for her whole family. Check out some excerpts from the interview below!

On Stedman keeping it real with her while she was being slammed in the press
“He would say, ‘You think you’re going to rest on your laurels? You think anybody cares about 25 years?’ And I’d go, ‘Yeah, I kinda felt people did. Twenty-five years means nothing?’ Same thing happened with Gayle. I said, ‘I heard people were counting me out.’ And she goes, ‘No. You were counted out.’ “[…]“This has been the great climb of my life,” she says of the past three years. “But I still have a long way to go.”

Her advice to new talk-show hosts like Steve Harvey and Queen Latifah
“Don’t do it until you have 100 percent creative control to be yourself.” When she sensed that Harvey was straying, she called him up and told him, “I saw you in a chocolate factory trying to do that routine that Lucy and Ethel did. That’s not you. Don’t let people talk you into what they think is you.”

When [my producers] called me in and said, ‘I know, we could take the audience to outer space,’ I knew it was time to go.

On having kids
“Gayle [now a mother of two] was the kind of kid who, in seventh grade Home Ec class, was writing down her name and the names of her children. While she was having those kind of daydreams, I was having daydreams about how I could be Martin Luther King.[…]If I had kids, my kids would hate me. They would have ended up on the equivalent of the Oprah show talking about me; because something [in my life] would have had to suffer and it would’ve probably been them.”

Grab a copy of the magazine now to read the full interview!

Source: Necolebitchie.com

Leave a Reply

